close
close
Posted in

Jason Rodocker » Washington and Lee University

Q. How long have you been with W&L?
I have been working at W&L for 19 years.

Q. What do you like most about working at W&L?
I work in higher education for the personal and professional development of myself and others. I am grateful to be surrounded by people who are caring and capable. Our students will become leaders in their communities and I hope that in some way we have prepared them to be even more ethical and effective than they otherwise would have been, thus having a positive ripple effect on the world.

Q. What is your favorite location on the W&L campus?
The basketball courts at the gym are my favorite, but I also enjoy the Woods Creek Trail, the disc golf course, and the theaters.

Q. Where did you grow up?
I grew up near Indianapolis, Indiana and I am a proud Hoosier.

Q. What advice do you have for students (or parents)?
For students I would say: go to class, complete things on time and communicate proactively. For parents, I would say ask their students questions, encourage their students to take advantage of resources and opportunities, and always require their students to take the lead in communication.

Q. What’s the most adventurous thing you’ve ever done?
Some highlights include playing basketball in 21 states in 17 days on a cross-country road trip; going out all night in Florence, Italy, Monte Carlo, Monaco and Sydney, Australia (three different trips); hitchhiking in Naxos, Greece on my honeymoon; and repelling several times from a height of more than 15 metres.

Q. What do you like to do when you’re not working?
My family is my top priority. I enjoy spending time with my son Caleb (9), daughter Jill (7) and wife Lisa. I coach several youth sports and teach card games for families. I enjoy traveling, sports, recreational games, movies and comedy.

Q. If you could live anywhere, where would you build your dream home?
I would have a house that is great for hosting parties and guests somewhere with excellent spring and fall weather; then travel much of the winter and summer.

Q. What book are you reading now?
I recently enjoyed reading ‘River of Doubt’. Most of the books I read now are in the evenings for my children. We enjoy anything by Rick Riordan (Percy Jackson, etc.), but I enjoyed reading them “My Father’s Dragon” the most.

Q. What music are you listening to these days?
Hamilton (and other Lin Manuel Miranda stuff), Disney songs, and more Taylor Swift than I expected. I grew up listening to country, but now enjoy a wide variety. Some favorites include Dave Matthews Band, Jimmy Buffett, Matchbox Twenty, Kenny Chesney, Jason Mraz and Tyrone Wells.

Q. What is the website you visit most often and why?
ESPN.com because I passionately love sports, especially any Indiana team.

Q. What’s your desert island food?
My favorite meal is probably salmon with roasted vegetables and mashed potatoes, but my favorite is a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Rum and coke on an island would be good too.

Q. Tell us something most people don’t know about you.
A few interesting things: I wanted to be an architect growing up and loved designing house plans; I won a state championship in debate in high school; I played varsity golf in college; I was homecoming king in college; I have won intramural championships in ultimate frisbee, volleyball and basketball; I worked for the Governor of Indiana before graduating, have a JD (law degree), played in the same Tuesday poker game and lunchtime basketball game for almost 20 years, been to 48 states, got married at House Mountain Inn and go to Rockbridge Church.

Q. What is your secret talent?
Most of all, I’m good at estimating, a pretty good dancer, good at writing poetry, and excellent at making dad jokes.